Diagram for tipping

I worked as a server for 6 years and was so surprised by the amount of people who don’t understand tipping. All the time I’d overhear “Is that enough?”. I am not sure honestly how many don’t understand the 15% rule but it is there for a reason. What some of the bad tippers may not know is that I am taxed as if I receive those tips. If I sell… let’s say $1000 in sales, (which would be a great night, but it is an easy number so I’m using it) I’d make $150 in tips HOPEFULLY… But I am not taxed straight from my pocket but my paycheck. So technically, if you don’t tip your server, they are paying a small amount to serve you. This applies to all jobs that have tips.

I do wish it was like in other places, but we use tips in America, so that’s just how it is.

Leave a Reply

