Someones Gotta Say It

I attend Washington State University and we have some home games coming up. I am pumped! I love watching football and Saturday can’t come soon enough.

BUT… I have to say, there is a moment during every home game that irks me. The jaws song comes on and then I know it’s coming. The stupidest tradition ever. We do the Gator clap, surely (allegedly), stolen from Florida Gators.  Of course it’s fun and all but what on earth does shark themed music, Gators and Cougars have to do with each other? Absolutely nothing. It makes no sense.

I can appreciate our own original traditions such as raising the Coug flag every game day, and jingling our keys but I think we could do better than blatantly ripping off a Gator tradition.

I am not sure if I am alone on this but I will continue to stand by awkwardly during the Gator clap. Regardless though, GO COUGS!

gator

Leave a Reply

